top of page

Due to improving COVID-19 conditions, we now offer in-person presentations. We also will continue to offer ZOOM as an alternate way to attend. Contact us for details.

IN-PERSON: Program Room,

Terry Fox Library,

2150 Wilson Ave., Port Coquitlam, BC V3C 6J5

or

On ZOOM: please send an e-mail to: tri.city.wordsmiths@gmail.com with a request to attend, and you will receive

further instructions

Sat., Feb. 4th, 2023 - 1:30-4PM

The Play's The Thing: How to

Create One

by Ruth Kozak

Journalist, playwright, historical novelist, poet, writing instructor

**Assisting Ruth will be special guest, Jay Hamburger, Artistic Director of the Vancouver-based company, Theatre in The Raw**

DSC01082--300 x 318px-lrgst.jpg
Jay Hamburger .jpg

 We all enjoy the theatre, whether it's a full-length drama or a short skit. But how do you write a play? This is a different medium to a novel and uses a different narrative form. A good play, whether drama or comedy, is carried by mystery and the questions the play poses. Come and learn the difference and dare to write a short play during this 90-minute workshop.

www.ruthkozak.com

www.theatreintheraw.ca

 

More  details here. 

**More Events/Dates:**

Sat., Apr. 1st, 2023 - 1:30-4PM

Amber Cowie

Presentation TBD

Amber Cowie.jpg

Amber Cowie is a novelist living in a small town on the west coast of British Columbia. Her work has appeared in The New York Times, Salon, The Globe and Mail, CrimeReads, and Scary Mommy. Her first novel, Rapid Falls, was a Whistler Book Awards nominee.

Her latest book, “Last One Alive,” is about a team of researchers exploring the myth of a witch who find their numbers mysteriously dwindling in this irresistible psychological thriller for fans of Ruth Ware, Shari Lapena, and Lucy Foley.

Visit AmberCowie.com for more info.

Retreat 2019 with Title.jpg

Save the date!

Tri-City LitFest

May 6th, 2023, 10 AM - 5 PM

Tri-City Wordsmiths presents a writer's festival at the Port Coquitlam Community Centre, celebrating our 10th anniversary of 'writers meeting writers.'

Our LitFest features a full day of panels, workshops, presentations, a marketplace, and more. 

The Tri-City LitFest will be free to attend.

If you can, please help us by donating in 

support of the Tri-City LitFest 

Donate Here

Sign Up or renew! 
Pay your member dues here,
$30 for 2023
Renews every January

Writers Meeting Writers Since 2013

 Our Mission

To increase knowledge and skill in the literary arts

To provide support and encouragement

To exchange ideas

Member Events and Achievements

Murder on Belcut Mountain.jpg

Nov 6, 2021 

Lyn Ayre launched her new book, 'Murder on Belcut Mountain'.

 It is available online at Amazon.

TheDayThePiratesWentMad-FinalCover-v2104
My New Tomorrow Cover.jpg
Death In Half moon Bay edit03-1.png

May 1, 2021 

Trevor Atkins launched his new book, 'The Day the Pirates Went Mad.' It is available online at Amazon and at Western Sky Books.

March 6, 2021 

Bev Gyori launched her new book,   'My New Tomorrow.' It is available online at Amazon and at Western Sky Books.

Feb 11, 2021 

Author Erik D'Souza launched "Death in Halfmoon Bay." The book is a cozy/traditional mystery set in the Sunshine Coast. Now available at Western Sky Books.

FVRL_logo_col_w-URL (1) (002).jpg

© 2022 Tri-City Wordsmiths

bottom of page